To begin with, nepotism exists everywhere. Anyone who’s part of the comfortable middle class has at one point of another used nepotism to their advantage. It makes sense. Why wouldn’t you? At the end of the day, everyone has to take care of themselves in any way possible. And Nepotism lies in the gray area of morality for most people. Because it’s common knowledge that if you don’t use your contacts, your competition certainly will. So nepotism is largely accepted. 

However, there is one specific profession that is pretty much built on gross levels of Nepotism. Of course I’m talking about acting in Bollywood. Just to make it clear, even Hollywood has nepotism when it comes to acting but it has no comparison with Bollywood. How else do you explain the holy trinity of Uday Chopra, Tushar Kapoor and Bobby Deol? 

But seriously though, acting is one of the most difficult forms of art that exist. And because of nepotism, nearly all big time Bollywood “stars” have work coming for them right now are related to someone or the other. And we, as an audience, let it slide simply by buying tickets. And because nobody really calls them out on their shit. Here’s a list just off the top of my head: 

  • Ranbir Kapoor
  • Alia Bhat
  • Arjun Kapoor
  • Imran Khan 
  • Sonam Kapoor
  • Pareeniti Chopra
  • Ranvir Singh
  • Varun Dhawan
  • Shraddha Kapoor
  • Shahid Kapoor
  • Farhan Akhtar
  • Abhay Deol
  • Hrithik Roshan
  • Aamir Khan
  • Ajay Devgn
  • Kareena Kapoor
  • Salman Khan
  • Saif Ali Khan
  • Abhishek Bachchan

And many more. These guys heavily dominate the acting industry. And I’m not saying that it’s easy if you’re some famous guy’s son or daughter. It’s still pretty hard. And some of these people are good actors too. But really, their struggle has no match for those who come from nothing. Which is why it pisses me off when people idolize these guys (maybe that’s a little extreme).

I grew up in a neighborhood in Bombay called Lokhandwala which is sort of the hub of struggling actors. I’ve met a lot of them and they come from all over the country to make it big in this business but to be very honest, they are kind of treated like a joke. I’m not saying all of them are talented and deserve to get a shot but I’m sure some of them do. And they miss out because of the people I mentioned above. All I’m trying to say is that there is an issue with the industry I’m sort of working around (if not in) and it needs to be addressed more often. Just look at how Hollywood treats Jaden Smith. It makes sense. We need more of that. 

P.S – I know that Nepotism is in various other professions in India like Politics or Music. But I’m just addressing what I understand best. 

