Let me begin by saying that teenage / post teenage angst is almost always immature. It stems from a lack of understanding of how the world really works. And that’s fine. I’ve been an angsty teen and in retrospect, it was a pretty important time in my life. 

The reason I’m writing this is because I see a lot of people being ironic about angst in order to disregard it completely. Well, with all due respect, fuck you! I’m not saying we shouldn’t laugh at angsty teens. They’re hilarious because we know they’re obsessing over trivial issues. And I get that. I love that too. But I wouldn’t go so far as to trivialize their feeling entirely. Because it comes from an honest place, at least it did for me, back in the day. 

I know a lot of people use it to portray their lives as miserable even though they’re extremely privileged. But I guess that’s fine. Whatever helps them get over their privileged guilt. I’d actually suggest that every teenager should be an angsty child. I mean, if you don’t hate everyone when you’re 16 then you’ve matured too early. You’re a fucking asshole because you’re rubbing your ability to deal with your shit in people’s faces. Those people are idiots who haven’t figured out their lives at all. But they will. At some point. Even if they don’t, fuck it, they’ll probably just do a lot of heroin and die, so it’s okay. 

Also, we have to remember that Angst sells. Privileged kids around the world have the same problems. And they’ll all buy black t shirts and beanies to deal with them. While also listening to Nirvana and Eminem. Remember, if it wasn’t for one angsty teenager, we wouldn’t have Nirvana. Or Slim Shady. Or Morrison. Or Ice Cube. Or Countless others. 

I’m not saying every angsty teen is going to grow up to be an artist, but it’s worth giving them a shot. So, as a former angsty teenager (I still prefer black though), just let these angsty kids be in their bubble. Don’t try to break it before they figure out their way out of it. That’s what I did. Sort of. 

